Close panel

Create Account Reset Password

Log In

Find your state board CE requirements:

For NBCC Counselor (NCC), click here: NCC CE Requirements.

Clinical Supervision 15 Hour CE Course

$ – For pricing details, see our Pricing page.  **Make sure you are logged in prior to taking any exam or purchasing units.**

You will need to purchase 1 unit for every 1 hour of coursework to gain access to the certificate of completion.

You will receive a certificate of completion after passing the exam, completing the course evaluation, and purchasing the appropriate number of units.  The certificate of completion will then be accessible on your myCourses page in the Your Course History section under the tab “Aspira Courses I’ve Passed”.  There will be a “Download” button under the “Certificate” column that you will be able to click on to pull up your certificate once all requirements listed above have been met.

To access the course document, click on the “View Coursework” button below (you may need to scroll down on the page). If the course is a video course the button will read “View Webinar” or “View Video”.  If the course is a Book course the button will display “Buy Book”.

Clinical Supervision 15 Hour CE Course – Online CE Course (New Course!)

Clinical Supervision 15 Hour CE Course Objectives and Outline:

Course Objectives:

  1. Describe at least two empirically and methodologically sound approaches to effective supervision.
  2. Identify and discuss at least two specific supervisory roles within the context of the supervisory relationship.
  3. Explain at least two specific multi-culturally competent supervision strategies, and comparative perspectives on supervision cross-culturally.
  4. Identify at least two cultural and contextual factors related to clinical supervision.
  5. Discuss at least one defining characteristic of clinical supervision that makes it a distinct professional practice.
  6. Describe at least two functions of clinical supervision.
  7. Discuss at least two legal and ethical issues within clinical supervision.
  8. Describe at least one competency-based supervision model which focuses primarily on the skills and learning needs of the supervisee.
  9. Describe at least one treatment based supervision model.

Table of Contents:

  1. Introduction to Clinical Supervision and Professional Development
  2. Functions, Methods and Techniques of a Clinical Supervisor
  3. Supervisory Problems and Resources
  4. Cultural and Contextual Factors
  5. Trauma Informed Clinical Supervision
  6. Legal and Ethical Considerations in Clinical Supervision
  7. Monitoring Performance
  8. Clinical Vignettes and Application
  9. The Use of Technology in Supervision
  10. References

Instructors: Nicole Hiltibran, MA, LMFT; Julie Campbell, Phd

Author: SAMHSA

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA’s mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America’s communities.


Click here to return to Aspira Continuing Education’s Home page of CEs for Psychologists, MFTs, Social Workers, Professional Counselors, and SUDC Counselors


Click here for information on the CA BBS CE requirements for clinical supervision: CA BBS Supervision CE Requirements


You may also be interested in:

Clinical Supervision and Professional Development CE Course

No state selected.

Click a state below to see the professions that this course is approved for.

Approved States

Click a state below to see the professions that this course is approved for.

  • Guam
  • Wisconsin
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Massachusetts
  • Maryland
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • Washington, DC
  • Connecticut
  • Colorado
  • Arizona
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Alabama
  • California