Close panel

Create Account Reset Password

Log In

Clinical Supervision and Professional Development CE Course

$ – For course pricing details, see our Pricing page.

You will need to purchase 1 unit for every 1 hour of coursework.

You will receive a certificate of completion after passing the exam and purchasing the appropriate number of units.

To access the course document, click on the “View Coursework” button below (you may need to scroll down on the page). If the course is a video course the button will read “View Webinar” or “View Video”.  If the course is a Book course the button will display “Buy Book”.

Clinical Supervision and Professional Development CE Course

Clinical Supervision and Professional Development CE Course Objectives and Outline:

Course Objectives:

  1. Describe at least two empirically and methodologically sound approaches to effective supervision.
  2. Identify and discuss at least two specific supervisory roles within the context of the supervisory relationship.
  3. Explain at least two specific multi-culturally competent supervision strategies, and comparative perspectives on supervision cross-culturally.
  4. Identify at least two cultural and contextual factors related to clinical supervision.
  5. Discuss at least one defining characteristic of clinical supervision that makes it a distinct professional practice.
  6. Describe at least two functions of clinical supervision.
  7. Discuss at least two legal and ethical issues within clinical supervision.
  8. Describe at least one competency-based supervision model which focuses primarily on the skills and learning needs of the supervisee.
  9. Describe at least one treatment based supervision model.

Table of Contents:

  1. Introduction to Clinical Supervision and Professional Development
  2. Functions, Methods and Techniques of a Clinical Supervisor
  3. Supervisory Problems and Resources
  4. Cultural and Contextual Factors
  5. Trauma Informed Clinical Supervision
  6. Legal and Ethical Considerations in Clinical Supervision
  7. Monitoring Performance
  8. Clinical Vignettes and Application
  9. The Use of Technology in Supervision
  10. References

Instructors: Nicole Hiltibran, MA, LMFT; Julie Campbell, Phd

Author: SAMHSA

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA’s mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America’s communities.

1.2 hours of the 6 hours may be used towards ethics


Click here to return to Aspira Continuing Education’s Home page of CE/CEUs for MFTs, Social Workers, Professional Counselors and Interns


You may also be interested in:

Supervision Essentials for the Integrative Developmental Model


continuing education for lmfts, online courses accepted by BBS, online ce/ceus, ceus for MFTs, ce courses for counselors, Social Worker CE, continuing education units for LPCs, MHC ce/ceus, LCSW, ASW and MFT Intern ce, Board approved ce/ceus in many states, national board approval ce, alcohol and drug abuse counselor ce.  See chart below for your state and license.

Aspira Continuing Education has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 6416. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. Aspira Continuing Education is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs.

No state selected.

Click a state below to see the professions that this course is approved for.

Approved States

Click a state below to see the professions that this course is approved for.

  • Guam
  • Wisconsin
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Massachusetts
  • Maryland
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • Washington, DC
  • Connecticut
  • Colorado
  • Arizona
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Alabama
  • California