Close panel

Create Account Reset Password

Log In

Continuing Education Resources

Online Newsletter Committed to Excellence in the Fields of Mental Health, Addiction, Counseling, Social Work, and Nursing

How to Speak Your Partner’s Love Language

Nicole Hiltibran September 29, 2018 Uncategorized

The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman outlines five ways to express and experience love that Chapman refers to as “love languages” including: receiving gifts, quality time, words of affirmation, acts of service (devotion), and physical touch. Examples are given from his counseling practice, as well as questions to help determine one’s own love languages.

Chapman’s book claims that the list of five love languages is exhaustive. According to this theory, each person has one primary and one secondary love language. Chapman spent a professional lifetime counseling couples and repeatedly observed the same patterns. Chapman suggests that to discover another person’s love language, one must observe the way they express love to others, and analyze what they complain about most often and what they request from their significant other most often. He theorizes that people tend to naturally give love in the way that they prefer to receive love, and better communication between couples can be accomplished when one can demonstrate caring to the other person in the love language the recipient understands.

The chart provided above offers examples and recommendations for each love language. To find out your own love language, take this quiz on Dr. Chapman’s Web site:

Want more recent information?  Click here

Click here to go to Aspira CE’s Home page: Home page



Leave a Reply