Close panel

Create Account Reset Password

Log In

Find your state board CE requirements:

For NBCC Counselor (NCC), click here: NCC CE Requirements.

CBT – How to Implement Trauma-Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (TF-CBT)

$ – For pricing details, see our Pricing page.  **Make sure you are logged in prior to taking any exam or purchasing units.**

You will need to purchase 1 unit for every 1 hour of coursework to gain access to the certificate of completion.

You will receive a certificate of completion after passing the exam, completing the course evaluation, and purchasing the appropriate number of units.  The certificate of completion will then be accessible on your myCourses page in the Your Course History section under the tab “Aspira Courses I’ve Passed”.  There will be a “Download” button under the “Certificate” column that you will be able to click on to pull up your certificate once all requirements listed above have been met.

To access the course document, click on the “View Coursework” button below (you may need to scroll down on the page). If the course is a video course the button will read “View Webinar” or “View Video”.  If the course is a Book course the button will display “Buy Book”.

CBT – How to Implement Trauma-Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (TF-CBT) – Online CE Course

CBT – How to Implement Trauma-Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (TF-CBT) Course Objectives and Outline:

Course Objectives:

  1. Identify at least two trauma symptoms in youth.
  2. Identify at least two advantages of Trauma-Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy.
  3. Describe at least two Trauma-Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy principles.
  4. Identify at least two strategies for using Trauma-Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy.
  5. Define at least two methods for Trauma-Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy delivery.
  6. Explain at least one Trauma-Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy treatment goal.
  7. Describe at least one Trauma-Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy intervention.

Course Outline:

  1. Why Trauma-Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (TF-CBT)?
    1. Why Should Agencies and Clinicians Consider Implementing TF-CBT?
  2. An Overview of TF-CBT
    1. What Is TF-CBT?
    2. What Are the Components of TF-CBT?
    3. What Symptoms Does TF-CBT Reduce?
    4. When Is TF-CBT Not the First-Line Treatment of Choice?
  3. Implementing TF-CBT
    1. Agency Stakeholders: Identification and Buy-in Within and Outside Agencies and Programs
    2. Steps in Implementing TF-CBT: Organizational readiness, pre-implementation training, implementation, and sustaining the practice
    3. Information for Program Administrators
    4. Information for Clinical Supervisors
    5. Information for Therapists
    6. Information for Families and Children
    7. Information for Community Referral Source
    8. Information for Third-Party Payors
    9. Other Issues Related to Implementing TF-CBT
      1. Staffing Levels, Skills, and Training
      2. TF-CBT and Reimbursement
      3. TF-CBT and Managed Care
  4. Delivering TF-CBT
    1. Fostering Attitudes of Acceptance
    2. How TF-CBT Fosters Cultural Competence
    3. Fostering the Ability to Talk About Traumatic Events
    4. Therapeutic Materials and Activities
    5. Client Selection Criteria
    6. Screening and Assessment
    7. Time Requirements and Adjusting the Length of TF-CBT Treatment
    8. Skill Acquisition By Therapists
    9. How to Implement Trauma-Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (TF-CBT)
  5. Maintaining TF-CBT
    1. Sustaining Fidelity and Avoiding “Drift”
    2. Balancing Fidelity and Flexibility
    3. Addressing Fidelity Issues with Novice vs. Experienced Therapists
    4. Meeting Fidelity Standards
  6. Additional Clinical Considerations
    1. Service Needs in Addition to Treatment
    2. Addressing Comorbidity
    3. TF-CBT and Multiple Trauma Events
    4. Managing Parents/Caregivers with Complex Needs
  7. Conclusions
  8. Appendices
    1. Summary of Trauma-Focused-CBT Research
    2. Organizational Readiness and Capacity Assessment
    3. UCLA PTSD Index for DSM-IV (Child, Adolescent, and Parent Versions) and Scoring Worksheet
    4. Trauma-Focused-CBT Brief Practice Checklist

Instructors: Nicole Hiltibran, MA, LMFT; Julie Campbell, Phd

Author: National Child Traumatic Stress Network

Established by Congress in 2000, the National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN) brings a singular and comprehensive focus to childhood trauma. NCTSN’s collaboration of frontline providers, researchers, and families is committed to raising the standard of care while increasing access to services. Combining knowledge of child development, expertise in the full range of child traumatic experiences, and dedication to evidence-based practices, the NCTSN changes the course of children’s lives by changing the course of their care.


Click here to return to Aspira Continuing Education’s Home page of CEs for Psychologists, MFTs, Social Workers, Professional Counselors, and SUDC Counselors


You may also be interested in:

Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT) and Relapse Prevention


Trauma-Focused CBT therapy – online continuing education for counselors, MFTs, Social Work, Nursing, ce/ceu’s, online ce/ceus, ce for MFTs, ce courses for counselors, Social Worker ce, continuing education units for LPCs, MHC ceus, LCSW, ASW and MFT Intern ce/ceus, Board approved ce/ceus in many states, national board approval ce, alcohol and drug abuse counselor ce/ceus.  See chart below for your state and license.

Aspira Continuing Education has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 6416. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. Aspira Continuing Education is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs.

No state selected.

Click a state below to see the professions that this course is approved for.

Approved States

Click a state below to see the professions that this course is approved for.

  • Guam
  • Wisconsin
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Massachusetts
  • Maryland
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • Washington, DC
  • Connecticut
  • Colorado
  • Arizona
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Alabama
  • California