Close panel

Create Account Reset Password

Log In

Professional Counselor Ethics CE Course

$ – For course pricing details, see our Pricing page.

You will need to purchase 1 unit for every 1 hour of coursework.

You will receive a certificate of completion after passing the exam and purchasing the appropriate number of units.

To access the course document, click on the “View Coursework” button below (you may need to scroll down on the page). If the course is a video course the button will read “View Webinar” or “View Video”.  If the course is a Book course the button will display “Buy Book”.

Professional Counselor Ethics CE Course

This course has been updated and will be replaced with the 2014 ACA Code of Ethics.  To take the updated course please select the course “Counselor Ethics”.  This older course will remain available until July 1, 2020, at which time will be discontinued.

Professional Counselor Ethics CE Course Objectives and Outline:

Course Objectives:

  1. Describe at least one important concept within the the counseling relationship.
  2. Explain at least two difficult issues surrounding confidentiality, privileged communication, and privacy
  3. Describe the scope of the counselor’s professional responsibility.
  4. Discuss at least one ethical relationship standard with other professionals.

Course Outline:

  1. ACA Code of Ethics Preamble
  2. ACA Code of Ethics Purpose
  3. The Counseling Relationship
  4. Confidentiality, Privileged Communication, and Privacy
  5. Professional Responsibility
  6. Relationships With Other Professionals
  7. Evaluation, Assessment, and Interpretation
  8. Supervision, Training, and Teaching
  9. Research and Publication
  10. Resolving Ethical Issues
  11. Glossary of Terms

Instructors: Nicole Hiltibran, MA, LMFT; Julie Campbell, Phd

Author: ACA

The American Counseling Association is a not-for-profit, professional and educational organization that is dedicated to the growth and enhancement of the counseling profession. Founded in 1952, ACA is the world’s largest association exclusively representing professional counselors in various practice settings.

The ACA Code of Ethics serves five main purposes: 1. The Code enables the association to clarify to current and future members, and to those served by members, the nature of the ethical responsibilities held in common by its members. 2. The Code helps support the mission of the association. 3. The Code establishes principles that define ethical behavior and best practices of association members. 4. The Code serves as an ethical guide designed to assist members in constructing a professional course of action that best serves those utilizing counseling services and best promotes the values of the counseling profession. 5. The Code serves as the basis for processing of ethical complaints and inquiries initiated against members of the association.

2 hours of the 2 hours may be used towards ethics


Click here to return to Aspira Continuing Education’s Home page of CE/CEUs for MFTs, Social Workers, Professional Counselors and Intern


To go to the new Counselor Ethics course:

Counselor Ethics


Aspira Continuing Education has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 6416. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. Aspira Continuing Education is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs.

No state selected.

Click a state below to see the professions that this course is approved for.

Approved States

Click a state below to see the professions that this course is approved for.

  • Guam
  • Wisconsin
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Massachusetts
  • Maryland
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • Washington, DC
  • Connecticut
  • Colorado
  • Arizona
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Alabama
  • California