Close panel

Create Account Reset Password

Log In

Find your state board CE requirements:

For NBCC Counselor (NCC), click here: NCC CE Requirements.

National Strategy for Suicide Prevention CE Course

$ – For pricing details, see our Pricing page.  **Make sure you are logged in prior to taking any exam or purchasing units.**

You will need to purchase 1 unit for every 1 hour of coursework to gain access to the certificate of completion.

You will receive a certificate of completion after passing the exam, completing the course evaluation, and purchasing the appropriate number of units.  The certificate of completion will then be accessible on your myCourses page in the Your Course History section under the tab “Aspira Courses I’ve Passed”.  There will be a “Download” button under the “Certificate” column that you will be able to click on to pull up your certificate once all requirements listed above have been met.

To access the course document, click on the “View Coursework” button below (you may need to scroll down on the page). If the course is a video course the button will read “View Webinar” or “View Video”.  If the course is a Book course the button will display “Buy Book”.

National Strategy for Suicide Prevention CE – Online CE Course

(This course satisfies the California requirement for suicide risk assessment.)

This National Strategy for Suicide Prevention CE Course Objectives and Outline (suicide risk assessment):

Course Objectives:

  1. Identify at least two high risk suicidal characteristics.
  2. Discuss at least two high risk suicidal populations.
  3. Describe at least two effective strategies for prevention and assessment.
  4. Identify at least two high risk behaviors and circumstances.
  5. Explain at least one evidence based clinical intervention concept.
  6. Explain at least two protections and risks involving hospitalization and discharge.
  7. Identify at least two clinical and community preventive services.
  8. Describe at least two available treatment and support services.

Course Outline:

  1. Introduction
  2. Strategic Direction 1: Healthy and Empowered Individuals, Families, and Communities
  3. Strategic Direction 2: Clinical and Community Preventive Services
  4. Strategic Direction 3: Treatment and Support Services
  5. Strategic Direction 4: Surveillance, Research, and Evaluation
  6. Appendix A: National Strategy for Suicide Prevention Goals and Objectives for Action Summary List
  7. Appendix B: Crosswalk of Goals and Objectives from 2001 to 2012
  8.  Appendix C: Brief History of Suicide Prevention in the United States
  9. Appendix D: Groups With Increased Suicide Risk
  10. Appendix E: General Suicide Prevention Resources
  11. Appendix F: Glossary
  12. Appendix G: Federal Working Group Agency Descriptions
  13. Acknowledgments
  14. References

Instructors: Nicole Hiltibran, MA, LMFT; Julie Campbell, Phd

Author: Surgeon General

The development of this document was supported by the United States Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), through Grant No. SMO59945 to Education Development Center, Inc., for the Suicide Prevention Resource Center. Design and review were supported by Gallup, under Contract No. HHS28300001T/HHS2832007000231, Ref No. 283-07-2301, SAMHSA, HHS.


Click here to return to Aspira Continuing Education’s Home page of CEs for Psychologists, MFTs, Social Workers, Professional Counselors, and SUDC Counselors


You may also be interested in:

Suicide: How You Can Make a Difference


CA BBS 2021 requirement for suicide risk assessment can be met with this course titled National Strategy for Suicide Prevention.

See chart below for your state and license.

Aspira Continuing Education has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 6416. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. Aspira Continuing Education is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs.

No state selected.

Click a state below to see the professions that this course is approved for.

Approved States

Click a state below to see the professions that this course is approved for.

  • Guam
  • Wisconsin
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Massachusetts
  • Maryland
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • Washington, DC
  • Connecticut
  • Colorado
  • Arizona
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Alabama
  • California